Top 12 Affiliate Marketing Tips for Success in 2024

by | Aug 10, 2024 | Marketing Tips

Joining affiliate marketing can be confusing for many, despite it being a lucrative and low-risk way for digital entrepreneurs to monetize their online businesses.

After joining an affiliate program, how should one effectively market their products?

This article offers 12 affiliate marketing tips to boost your commission earnings and alleviate concerns about small commissions.

1. Don’t just join one affiliate program

Every affiliate program is at risk of closure, reduced profits, and lower conversions, so it’s important to rely on multiple programs to avoid dependence on a single source. Using a combination of affiliates can mitigate the risks associated with affiliate marketing.

For example, on April 21, 2020, Amazon cut the rates for eight major categories in its affiliate program. The changes made Amazon’s affiliate program structure frustrating for many business owners, including a reduction in the commission rate for the furniture and home decoration category from 8% to 3%.

You should join more than three affiliate programs and ensure that no single program accounts for more than 50% of your total commission. This will help you avoid major disruptions if one program closes.

2. Focus on the conversion rate

While traffic is important, conversion rate optimization (CRO) is crucial.

Conversion rate directly impacts your revenue. Most affiliate programs require your audience to make a purchase before you earn a commission.

Many people join Amazon affiliate programs because Amazon’s sponsored products have a relatively high conversion rate (8% to 15%).

When the number of customers is the same and the total amount is similar, the conversion rate becomes the decisive factor.

You can compare Affiliate Program (A) and Affiliate Program (B). They offer 10% and 7% commission rates respectively. Affiliate Program (A) has a 5% conversion rate, while Affiliate Program (B) has a 10% conversion rate.

With 5,000 users each buying products worth $100:
Affiliate Program (A):
5,000 * 5% = 250 conversions
$100 * 10% = $10
You would earn $2,500.

Affiliate Program (B):
5,000 * 10% = 500 conversions
$100 * 7% = $7
You would earn $3,500.

3. Split commissions with your audience

Split commissions with your audience

Allowing your audience to earn rewards is also a commission model, similar to acting as the initiator of an affiliate marketing program. However, your program relies on you already being part of the affiliate program.

For instance, if you earn $20 from your affiliate program, your audience can earn an extra $5 in addition to the product they receive when they purchase through your link. This means your net income is $15.

As an affiliate, sharing commissions with your audience helps build trust and shows appreciation for their support. By offering commission sharing, you create a mutually beneficial relationship where everyone involved gains value.

4. Get familiar with recommended products or services

Any user appreciates genuine reviews, and real reviews can also help you build trust.

As an affiliate marketer, you need to be familiar with the products and services you recommend or use them in a real sense. Some users will ask for information about the products. Being familiar with the products will help you answer these unexpected questions better.

For example, Joe Robert is a YouTuber in the print-on-demand industry. His audience consists of print-on-demand sellers. When he recommends products and services, he experiences these products in advance and showcases them to his fans.

Joe Robert not only has a large following on YouTube but also runs the largest print-on-demand group on Facebook.

It’s been proven that knowing the products or services you are promoting can build trust with your audience and increase the likelihood of successful conversions.

5. Find trending topics

Following trending topics can help you create content that aligns with your audience’s current interests and product needs in a timely manner.

Tools like TikTok Trends and Google Trends can help you capture attention in the short term.

tiktok trends

If you’re involved in affiliate marketing within the dropshipping industry, TikTok Trends shows the trending topic #tiktokshopbacktoschool. You can create videos or blogs with product recommendations for back-to-school.

To use Google Trends for content in your field, simply enter relevant keywords and select your country.

Google Trends

For example, I searched “Print on Demand” and set the location to the United States for the past 7 days. Midjourney has shown a 300% increase in related queries, so we can write an article or create a video on how print on demand can be combined with AI.

6.Create comparative content

Creating comparison content helps your audience make informed decisions. This type of content directly answers potential customers’ questions about which product is better suited to their needs, reducing the time they spend on research.

This approach is also popular among affiliate marketers, as it assists buyers in making informed choices quickly, without getting lost in a sea of products.

You can create a comparison page on your website to list the pros and cons of your recommended products versus others, or you can make a YouTube video to promote your products.

For instance, Honest Reviews published a YouTube video in February 2020 titled “$30 Thermos vs. $12 Thermos (Yeti vs. Zojirushi vs. Contigo) Thermos Comparison.” She compared three different brands of thermos cups and used a straightforward comparative title.

To encourage quick purchasing decisions, she added an affiliate link in the video’s description.

Comparison content allows users to see a clear comparison, making them more likely to make a make a purchase based on the information provided, often through an affiliate link you share.

7. Update content regularly

Regularly updating affiliate articles isn’t just about publishing new content consistently; it’s also about refreshing your existing articles because keyword search intent shifts over time. Additionally, data trends will also change.

Regular updates can boost your website’s search engine ranking. Fresh content signals to search engines that your website is active, helping to improve your visibility and attract more organic traffic.

These content updates require advanced SEO skills, and you’ll need to regularly monitor your article rankings in real-time.

When you join an affiliate program, you must disclose your affiliate relationship.

Disclosing affiliate links is ethical. Many countries, including the United States, have regulations requiring affiliate marketers to disclose their use of affiliate links. For example, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) in the United States requires affiliates to clearly and prominently disclose their financial relationship with a brand.

You can inform your customers of the commission you will earn when you make an editorial recommendation on a product or service.

When you disclose affiliate links, your audience is more likely to respect and support your work by purchasing products through your links.

9. Become an influencer

Building a website is a common way to promote products as an affiliate, but being a video influencer can be even more persuasive.

  • Viewers can retain 95% of information when watching a video, compared to just 10% when reading text.
  • 52% of consumers say that watching a product video makes them feel more confident in their online purchasing decisions.

You can create a YouTube channel to produce product review videos for the items you recommend, which will help you grow your audience. As mentioned earlier, include your affiliate link in the video description and remind your audience to check the link at the description of the video.

10. Invest more during peak shopping periods

During peak shopping seasons, consumers’ purchasing intent often surges. People are more likely to make purchases during these times, which can improve the conversion rate of your marketing efforts.

Many businesses increase their marketing efforts during peak seasons. Your customer acquisition costs will continue to rise due to bidding during this period, but this can be a way to accumulate customers and send them marketing emails during the off-season.

Perhaps you can take advantage of seasonal trends or holiday products and increase investment in the weeks before the holiday. Creating some advertising creatives based on the characteristics of the holiday and matching the holiday will make customers more likely to buy.

For example:

  • Christmas
  • Thanksgiving
  • Mother’s Day
  • Father’s Day
  • Valentine’s Day

11. Choose a flexible affiliate program

JetPrint Affiliate Program

The flexible affiliate program mentioned here refers to a program that allows you to withdraw commissions at any time.

Every affiliate marketer chooses to engage in this business because of the commissions, and no one wants to feel crazy because they cannot withdraw their commissions.

When you work hard to promote an affiliate program and earn a lot of commissions, but the program only allows withdrawals on the 15th of each month, you can’t predict if the program will be suspended before the 15th.

Therefore, it’s crucial to choose an affiliate program that allows timely commission withdrawals to ensure your efforts aren’t wasted.

To address this risk, you can consider two aspects:

  1. Choose an affiliate program that allows commissions to be withdrawn at any time.
  2. Withdraw directly when the amount reaches a certain level.

For example, JetPrint, as a print-on-demand company, provides an affiliate program that allows users to withdraw commissions in a timely manner. This method can alleviate affiliate marketers’ concerns about not being able to withdraw commissions.

12. Write product reviews and tutorials

High-quality, honest reviews increase user engagement. When people find your reviews and tutorials helpful, they are more likely to return to your website or channel for more information, share your content with others, or engage with it through comments and questions.

According to a survey, 95% of customers read online reviews before buying a product. However, that doesn’t mean 5-star reviews will be taken more seriously, as 68% of people don’t believe in 5-star ratings unless there are more reviews.

Customers want honest reviews based on the actual product.

Become a JetPrint Affiliate

The JetPrint affiliate program is open to everyone, but it’s especially suited for those interested in print on demand, allowing you to reach a wider audience when promoting our business.

As one of the best print on demand companies, JetPrint offers a wide range of high-quality products that customers can customize, which is excellent news for those who enjoy personalization.

Get started with your affiliate marketing strategy

This article covers 12 tips to improve your affiliate marketing, from using marketing content to selecting promotional channels. Whether you’re an experienced marketer or just starting out, it’s essential to choose the affiliate program that best suits your expertise or interests.

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